No measurements – Homemade Flour Tortillas

I debated on whether or not to add this post to my blog as I don’t have exact measurements for each ingredient to share. At a very early age I was taught how to make tortillas and to learn to measure by sight and not with measuring cups and spoons. I’ve tried on numerous times to try to measure the ingredients only to fail and ruin the dough.

One of my favorite childhood memories is of mom spreading re-fried beans and bacon on a homemade flour tortilla. I remember walking in the door from school and the smell of the tortillas cooking or freshly made still in the air. The same smell can be savored in our home today. I get the same reaction from my children as I used to have as a child. My daughter will walk out of her room and say, “mom I smell tortillas”. She’ll take a deep breath and wonder to the kitchen to lather a tortilla with butter, wrap it up, & enjoy the treat. Tortillas is a must for our family, it’s a way of having some sense of normal for the girls and comfort food for all. Fond memories!

Our challenge: Trying to find shortening in China is almost unheard of. We were able to find some imported Crisco shortening in a place called CityShop; however, the price was staggering.

Leave a comment or ask a question.

