Scrumptious like a doughnut!

My daughter’s have been asking me to make some chocolate chip cookies for day’s now. Since I don’t have the chocolate chips they love I decided to try a new recipe. I found this great and easy recipe a few day’s ago while going through some emails. I believe this recipe came out of a Country Kitchen cook book or a Rachel Ray magazine. Not sure which one exactly but it’s a good one.

These tastes-like-doughnut concoctions are delicious! I was able to make these treats with some nutmeg my daughter had sent to me in her last care package. Nutmeg along with a few other ingredients or spices are not an easy find here in China, so for now I’ll use it sparingly. I hope you and your family enjoy this recipe as much as we enjoyed the treats.

Desfruta!

Recipe:

1 1/2 Cup flour, 1/3 Cup White fine sugar, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, 1 Cup milk, 1 Tablespoon oil, 1 teaspoon Vanilla, 1 egg (beat and set aside), good cooking oil for frying, 1/2 Cup fine white sugar and 2 teaspoons cinnamon for sprinkle, 1 paper bag or something to shake the donuts in.

Combine dry ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.
Whisk milk, oil, vanilla, and egg mixture
Add milk mixture to dry ingredients

Heat oil to about 375 F.
Drop batter by spoonfuls into the oil for about 1 1/2 – 2 minutes on each side or until golden brown,

This is about the color you want before you take them off the stove and into a brown paper bag to shake in the cinnamon mixture (1/2 cup sugar to 2 teaspoons of cinnamon)

These are delicious! I got 12 pieces out of one batter. Not bad, easy to make, and quite tasty!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Scrumptious like a doughnut!

    • Thanks for stopping by. These are so delicious, make them small and just eat one as a treat. Ha! I couldn’t just have one so good luck to you. Also, I wish you well in your weight loss en devour.

Leave a comment or ask a question.

