Quick chicken feather plucking

For many of us buying poultry means a quick trip to the grocery store where we find the chicken plucked, gutted, refrigerated, and looking pretty. Here in Luxu, we can still run to TESCO (the local supermarket) or we can run to the Open Market where you can buy fresh chicken, plucked or un-plucked. Buying fresh and local (where ever you’re at) guarantees your meat was not gas packed or injected with a brine solution. What do you suppose goes into those plump looking pieces of meat that we find in the case ready meat packages?

This vendor was plucking away at geese & chickens. She did this with efficiency and a minimal mess. I stood and watched while she plucked away. The birds are taken out of a hot steaming kettle and quickly plucked. I’ve not purchased a fresh chicken for dinner. I’m not sure I could handle the gutting. Actually, I’m not sure if they are already gutted. Hmm…. food for thought.

The feathers from all the plucked poultry are put into the crates for recycling.

I felt sorry for the poor animals. I know they are raised to sustain families but I still feel bad for them. Silly I know.

 

2 thoughts on “Quick chicken feather plucking

  1. “I felt sorry for the poor animals. I know they are raised to sustain families but I still feel bad for them. Silly I know.” Not silly at all. I feel bad for them too! I like how seeing the animals makes it more personal to eat than the mass produced “forget it’s an animal” meat at the store.

Leave a comment or ask a question.

