Driving in China can be quite challenging

I know I’ve posted photo’s of driving, drivers, & traffic in the past. However, I do have a few others I’d like to share with you. Driving in China is atrocious, there is not one good thing I can say about drivers or their skills from this Shanghai rural area. I can however say that our driver Charles is quite a light foot in the van. Maybe I should say light driver hmm. Anyway, even with his crazy weaving in and out of traffic, pumping the gas pedal, and disobeying the speed limit and traffic signs, we feel very safe with him as our driver. Below are a few photo’s of the traffic congestion we were in during one of our shopping expeditions.

Look at the yellow line, we are in the oncoming traffic lane. With traffic so heavy, there is just no way we will make it back to the right side of the road before the traffic coming reaches us.

Look at the yellow line, we are in the oncoming traffic lane. With traffic so heavy, there is just no way we will make it back to the right side of the road before the traffic coming reaches us.

IMG_0730

See the big blue truck, it will soon be in front of us and Charles will have to move to let the truck go by. At this point there is a lot of honking and no one is letting us in. Charles has quite a following of other brave drivers behind him as well.

IMG_0731

Like a dummy I stuck my hand out the window with the iPhone pointing back to capture this shot. We are the ones in the white van trying to cut in with only inches to spare between the two cars.

6 thoughts on “Driving in China can be quite challenging

  1. As crazy as Shanghai is , I can never forget the traffic in Xi’An. Our driver from the hostel had to get someone to the train station in time , during rush hour , in pure gridlock. The driver was constantly popping up onto the sidewalk and gunning it , weaving through people and cars. I’m still in shock to this day , hahaha.

  2. Traffic lane lines are just a kind suggestion of how to drive on a public road, eh? Lucky you, there are neither animals nor kids on the road :’D Good luck for your future traffic adventures 🙂

    • Ha, ha thank you. I know I’ll need it. In the states I’m known for the speed demon that I am. I love fast cars and fast driving. It’s a stupid rush for me. Perhaps, my husband has a point and China is not the place for me to be behind the wheel. Time will tell. Not being able to drive is pleasure and privilege I definitely take fro granted back in Michigan. Thanks for the comment and or stopping in. Have a fabulous day!

      Maria

      • Haha, you should come over to central europe then 🙂 Way better conditions for a heavy foot, believe me. And a wee bit more secure 😀 Have a great day, too!

Leave a comment or ask a question.

