The Writing on the Ground – Beijing, China

I’ve often wondered what the men in the following pictures are saying. The characters appear to be different from each other. We’ve learned that there are over 80,000 characters in the Chinese language. However, only 3,500 characters are used and out of those characters only about 1,000 are most commonly used. There are also two forms of characters, simplified and traditional. I’ve also read that in order to master the language we must master the 4 tones. We’ve all learned a few words but not enough to say we know the language or know it well.

Does anyone know what the writing on the ground says? I’d love to know.

The Temple of Heaven in Beijing, May 2012. 

I could be wrong; but, I think this type of writing is more mainland writing.

I could be wrong; but, I think this type of writing is more mainland writing.

120

This style of writing is much more curvy than the other two. So is this Chinese calligraphy?

119

I find the writing and pinyin fascinating. It doesn’t make any sense to me of course but it’s fascinating.

2 thoughts on “The Writing on the Ground – Beijing, China

Leave a comment or ask a question.