2013 Recipe Adventure: Recipe 1 of 52 – Almond Biscotti

A new year means new adventures and experiences. Other than traveling and getting to know new places, I’ve decided that one of our adventures has to be in the kitchen. Adventures of the Smyth Kitchen if you will. Living in this part of China can at times limit us with ingredients and supplies. Things are not readily available as they are in the U.S. So, that means that at times we have to try to make things from scratch or improvise on recipes.

The challenge is to try to make successful meals and baked goods without using a box mix.  We are starting this new recipe adventure with Almond Biscotti’s. A huge thanks to my husband for being so patient while I snapped away while he baked. Hmm… love that husband of mine! 

Almond Biscotti

This recipe comes from Italian Dessert Recipes by Lisa Marietta Gianotti.

YIELD – About 16 Almond Biscotti

Ingredients:

1 cup (400 grams) blanched whole almonds, toasted and chopped coarsely

2/3 cup (135 grams) granulated white sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon almond extractwe did not have nor could we find almond extract so we used vanilla extract. 

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 3/4 cups (225 grams) all-purpose flour

Procedure

* Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C).

Toast almonds for 8-10 minutes or until golden.

Let cool and then chop coarsely. Set aside.

* Beat the sugar and eggs on until thick (about 5 minutes).

(When you slowly raise the beaters the batter should make little ribbons.)

* Beat in the almond extract.

* In a separate bowl, sift the flour, baking powder and salt.

* Add to the egg batter and mix until combined.

* Fold in the chopped almonds.

* Form dough into a log, about 12 inches (30 cm) long and 3 1/2 inches (9 cm) wide. Really you can form however you want. It’s your biscotti. Pick the size that makes you happy.

* Bake for 25 minutes, or until the log is firm.

* Remove from oven and let cool on a wire rack for about 10 minutes.

Reduce oven temperature to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). 

* Transfer the log to a cutting board and cut into 3/4 inch (2 cm) diagonal slices.

* Place the biscotti, cut side down, on the baking sheet.

* Bake for about 10 minutes, turn slices over, and bake for another 10 minutes or until golden brown. (Many times depending on humidity it takes longer. I will take as long as the biscotti needs to get it dry.)

* Remove from oven and let cool. Store in an airtight container.

 

6 thoughts on “2013 Recipe Adventure: Recipe 1 of 52 – Almond Biscotti

    • Tee hee…I think you read my post wrong. We do not have an oven we have a toaster oven. Are you kidding, I think I would feel like such a rich woman if I had a dryer and a real oven. Ha ha… A friend of ours does have an oven of which I am so incredibly jealous but no one I know in this part of China has dryer. I’ve never ironed so much in my life 🙂

      Maria

      • How big is the toaster oven? What did it cost? Haha , I’m quite interested in getting a good one that can bake bread/cookies/ etc in it. My one friend is friends with the daughter of a rich Chinese family. They have an full oven at home. Guess what they do with it. It serves as storage for their kitchen because they don’t know how to use it! *FACEPALM* This info actually hurts me deep inside . Wow , a dryer. I’ve forgotten about those! The things we take for granted back in the States. I’m working on that Shanghai cool place recommondations for ya. Get that over to you soon.

  1. I think comments for my blog are finally working. 🙂 We have a smaller toaster oven. A 9×11 does not fit in the oven. However, Metro has small baking pans that will fit. We bought our toaster oven in Metro and it was about 450 RMB not more than 500. This little oven is a Changdi brand. I’ve managed to cook for up to 18 people with this little thing and I can without a doubt say it has earned the $$ spent on it and then some. ha ha..

    By the way, without a dryer I’ve ironed more than I had in my lifetime.

    Maria

Leave a comment or ask a question.

