2013 Recipe Adventure: 2 of 52 -Scones

This week I tried adding a little life to a simple scone recipe. The recipe then turned into a chocolate chip, strawberry, & banana scone. I used the basic scone recipe from allrecipes.com then added the banana chips and strawberries. As an after thought, I threw in a cup of chocolate chips.

Appearance: Well, they didn’t look like the dense scone I usually buy at the bakery. They turned out a bit stiffer than cake but less dense than a scone. I do think they looked really pretty even without the icing. Taste: I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar. I think that made a difference as they were very good but not as sweet as we’ve had.

Substitutions: Sour cream is not readily available in this town. So instead of sour cream I used yogurt. Our local grocery store was out of small grain sugar at the time so I had to substitute brown sugar for white sugar. Sometimes the real challenge is being able to get the right ingredients or get really creative!

Since I used yogurt instead of sour cream, could that have caused the gooey dough? Anyone know? Recipe can be found under the gallery.

Enjoy!

The Recipe

INGREDIENTS:

1/3 cup sugar I used brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons unsalted butter, frozen
1/2 cup raisins (or dried currants) I used Chocolate Chips
1/2 cup sour cream I used yogurt
1 large egg
1/2 cup banana chips
1/2 cup fresh strawberries
DIRECTIONS:
1. Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, 1/3 cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Grate butter into flour mixture on the large holes of a box grater; use your fingers to work in butter (mixture should resemble coarse meal), then stir in chocolate chips, banana chips, & strawberries.
3. In a small bowl, whisk yogurt and egg until smooth.
4. Using a fork, stir sour cream mixture into flour mixture until large dough clumps form. Use your hands to press the dough against the bowl into a ball. (The dough will be sticky in places, and there may not seem to be enough liquid at first, but as you press, the dough will come together.)
5. Place on a lightly floured surface and pat into a 7- to 8-inch circle about 3/4-inch thick. Sprinkle with remaining 1 tsp. of sugar. Use a sharp knife to cut into 8 triangles; place on a cookie sheet (preferably lined with parchment paper), about 1 inch apart. Bake until golden, about 15 to 17 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes and serve warm or at room temperature.

 

3 thoughts on “2013 Recipe Adventure: 2 of 52 -Scones

  1. I am an avid baker. I absolutely love that you’re doing a recipe series! I have noticed that here the flour consistency is different than back home. When I first came, my breads, cookies, and bars were flatter than what I was used to. I added 1/2 to a whole cup more than the recipe required on multiple baking endeavors, and it’s solved my problem. I’m not a baking expert, but maybe the recipe just needed a little more flour to get the desired fluffiness? Either way, I’d be happy with your creation…they look WONDERFUL! I’m going to have to try your recipe!

  2. Hi Amanda! Thank you for the comment. I agree about the flour, it’s a bit different for sure. I tend to use more flour and shortening to make my tortillas as well. I’m not really a baker. I’ve tried and the extent of my baking is cookies. We love to make cookies. Do you ever log into Pioneer Woman? http://thepioneerwoman.com/ <~~ site . This gal makes me pea green envious of her cooking and baking skills and not to mention all her other skills as well. I'm going to try a few of her recipe's also so stay tuned. A few weeks ago I tried my hand at devil eggs. Ha ha… the eggs were awful and looked diseased. I say it was the eggs because no one should be able to flub a hard boiled egg. Have a fabulous evening!
    Maria

Leave a comment or ask a question.

