2013 Recipe Adventures: 4 of 52 – Mushroom Patty Burgers

Now, I have to wonder if you’re thinking what I thought when Mike first said, “honey we are eating burgers tonight”. I was excited and said great. Out comes the mushrooms and ingredients. Hmm silly me for thinking I was about to devour a fat juicy hamburger! I was pleasantly surprised as we had some pretty fantastic tasting mushroom burgers.

Seriously, these are incredible and so much healthier for us. The recipe we used was from GroupRecipes. It took about 30 minutes between the prep work and the first bite.

The Recipe

3 fork beaten eggs
3 cups coarse chopped mushrooms ( 8 oz )
1/2 cup flour shopping list
1/2 cup seasoned fine dry breadcrumbs
1/3 finely chopped onion
1 clove minced garlic ( optional )
1 tsp dried parsley flakes
1/4 tsp pepper
cooking oil as needed

Preparing 


  • Combine all ingredients.
  • Use 1/3 cup mixture for each patty and shape into a 3 1/2 inch pattie.
  • Heat some oil over medium high heat in heavy duty skillet.
  • Fry patties 3 to 4 minutes on each side.
  • Serve as is on a bun with a slice of cheese if desired.

Try them and let me know what you think. We’ve made these twice and both times they were well received with the kids. Most of the recipe’s we are trying tend to lean towards the vegetarian side but only because the recipe looks good not because I’m ready to give up beef. Umm that’s a definite NO. 🙂

6 thoughts on “2013 Recipe Adventures: 4 of 52 – Mushroom Patty Burgers

  1. Sorry if this is a completely retarded question, but it says “flour shopping list” in the list of ingredients. Did ‘shopping list’ just accidentally make it there or is this a type of flour that I am unaware of?

    • Oh nuts! I was so careful in proof reading to ha ha.. Shopping List just made it in there. Disregard that part. Thanks for commenting and I hope you try these delicious healthy burgers.

      Maria

      • Haha, cool, I just wanted to make sure it wasn’t some awesome kind of flour we don’t get over here. I’ll definitely be giving these burgers a shot, I’m really keen to try veggie burgers but a lot of them just don’t turn out all that nice, these look amazing though!

  2. Wow these look great! And the avocado….great choice! Are they as expensive in China as they are here?! Sometimes I splurge though. I’d love to try these burgers…unfortunately the hubs hates mushrooms, and would probably disown me if I made something like this. I’ll keep the recipe for a girls’ weekend or something of the sort!

    • You are very welcomed! So glad you enjoyed them. I love to find new recipes, try them, & find them successful. I recently tried making perogies and it was a major fail… so, I’ll keep trying. Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed them. Have a fabulous day!!

Leave a comment or ask a question.

