Reaching Holland Town in Shanghai China

A 40 minute bus ride from Fenhu and I’ve reached Hongqiao Railway Station. I hop on the metro for another 92 minute ride to North Waigaoqiao Free Trade Zone. From there, I had planned to take a taxi to Holland Town one of Shanghai‘s New Towns. With my taxi card ready and handy to show the driver where I want to go, I wait for a taxi. IMG_3156

The roads are not as busy as I’m used to seeing in Shanghai. I’ve gotten quite good at flagging down a taxi and didn’t think I would have a problem. For what ever reason I couldn’t manage to get a taxi. The driver’s would see me and pass me, I was waved off, and it just didn’t seem like a taxi wanted to stop. I asked a young lady next to me if she spoke English and after a firm, “of course”, I asked her if I was standing in the right area for a taxi. I was assured I was.

Here comes another Taxi. I plan to make this one mine. As he is pulling in I start to open the door and show him the information to where I want to go. He say’s, “meiyou meiyou” and waves me off. Meiyou means no and it is pronounced like mayo from mayonnaise. By this time I’m really irritated and I’ve been waiting for an hour. Seriously! Defeated, I walk back to the metro station and do so slowly in hopes that I may yet catch a taxi. No such luck. IMG_3157

Perhaps it was the trip pod bag, camera bag, & back pack I was carrying that scared them off. I don’t know for sure but I’m trekking it up again and this time arming myself with pictures and more than just a taxi card to help guide the way.

As I’m waiting on the platform of Metro Line 6 I decide to pull out the iPhone and snap 2 pictures.

The photo below has nothing to do with Holland Town. It’s just the view from the top of metro platform and I didn’t want to leave the area without at least one photo.

IMG_3159

 

 

One thought on “Reaching Holland Town in Shanghai China

Leave a comment or ask a question.

