Street Food: Quail Eggs & Shrimp

Street food is always a mystery to me. I love to find different street food vendors who sell strange and unusual items. The food often smells mouth watering delicious. However, I’ve often found the smell does not match up to what I believe the food should look like. I’m very visual. If I don’t like what I see, I just don’t taste it no matter how good it smells. Simple!

During our trip to Gulangyu Island Xiamen, we bumped into a small crowd lined up to a corner food stand. As curious as I am, I followed the crowd to the front of the line to discover what the fuss was all about. Ha! It smelled good and looked good that is until I saw the bucket of quail eggs and the cook cracking the little eggs into each little poached egg cup. My interest in sampling the food stopped there. Looking back, I wish I had tasted the quail and egg dough ball thing, darn, hope I didn’t miss much. Enjoy!

The small bucket of quail eggs was sitting to the back. I'm glad I saw it. I do wonder if I had not seen the bucket would I have tried the dish. Hmmm

The small bucket of quail eggs was sitting to the back. I’m glad I saw it. I do wonder if I had not seen the bucket would I have tried the dish. Hmmm

These smelled so good. Does anyone know what they are called?

These smelled so good. Does anyone know what they are called? The way each dish would sponge up into like a dough ball was really interesting. 

This line of people were in line for the Quail eggs & shrimp.

This line of people were waiting their turn for the Quail eggs & shrimp. Off the subject, I love the lady with the brown granny square wrap, beautiful! 

Leave a comment or ask a question.

