Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition- Pork On A Fence

I can’t resist, I have to add a second posting to this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition. I had debated on which photo’s to enter into the Weekly challenge and had decided to enter the Guanyin Bridge set, you can see those here; but, I also like these snap shots.

Drying meat on a clothes line, from a balcony, or on top of a car is not unusual around these parts. I’ve seen meat drying on a fence and gate before as well. Usually it’s just chunks of meat, fish, & sausage. I’ve never seen a whole pig’s head drying, this was a first!

Come on folks, we’re in China, there’s no space or a separate drying building to dry meat. Apartments are usually shared by multiple families or groups to save on expenses. So, the people look for creative way’s to do things. Hanging meat wherever there is space and away from our 4 legged creatures is quite common. Enjoy!

Pork Head 1

Pork Heads

7 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition- Pork On A Fence

    • You would be surprised what is hung to dry. We are used to it now but it used to be that we would be saying gross and eww a lot… A different world and culture that is so different from our western world yet the same in so many ways. Life is good! Thank you for taking the time to leave a message.

    • Hi Tina,
      I had to laugh when I read your comment. Thank you by the way for taking the time to share. I’ve said those very same words many of times while living in this area of China. Yet, there’s always something else that has me slapping my forehead and saying, “I’ve seen it all now”. Although, I end all my sentences with, “take me home now”. Life is so very interesting…..

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: JUXTAPOSITION | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

Leave a comment or ask a question.

