Behind a Locked Gate – Shanghai

At the boat dock

What’s the first thing that comes to your mind when you see a photo like this? Do you remember them movie Schindler’s List? I immediately thought of the movie from so many years ago. The setting is all wrong though for a historical drama such as Schindlers List, this is Asia not Europe. I was not gifted with the art of writing; but, I’ve been looking at this photo and dreaming up all sorts of story lines that could go with it.

We were getting off a ferry boat at The Bund in Shanghai when I saw this image. Luckily I had my camera in hand and was able to snap a few photo’s.

What do you think of when you see this photo?

 

3 thoughts on “Behind a Locked Gate – Shanghai

  1. I love how the people are in color in the foreground and in B&W in the background. I can totally see your reference to Schindler’s List. My first thought of the gates was that of the animal pens at a rodeo or a bullfight. I’m glad this picture’s truth is just the gate at a ferry and nothing horrible :). Have you been having a fun weekend? I’m happy to see your post. 🙂

    • I think the reason I immediately thought of Schindler’s List is because we had just been talking about visiting the Jewish Museum and old refugee area. I generally try and share with a cheerful heart; my comments in this post seemed negative. :/

      This whole week has been a crazy kind of week and the weekend was no exception. I am glad we are back to routine day’s starting this morning. School is back in session after being out for nearly 3 weeks in celebration of Chinese New Year.

      Life is good and a blessing! I’m going to wander over to your blog and see what you’ve shared. 🙂 Have a great evening!

      P.S – sometimes the time difference throws me off and I write have a great day. Day here night there… lol

  2. “I generally try and share with a cheerful heart” You do always share with a cheerful heart; that’s one of the reasons that I so enjoy your blog. Your good nature comes through in your writings and photographs. I can totally see where you got the Schindler’s List image. Have you been to the Holocaust Museum in DC? I’ve still not made it there, but my daughters have, and both found it a very solemn experience. I’m not sure that I’m ready for the sadness of it.
    I’m sorry you’ve had a hectic week and weekend. Hopefully now that the kiddos are back to school things will calm down. You all probably have a bit of cabin fever being home together for so long. 🙂 It happens even in the nicest of families :)! I will second your life is good and full of blessings, because it really, really is!
    You have a fabulous night/day–I always wonder what it is there when I comment to you, too! 🙂

Leave a comment or ask a question.

