Safeguarding the Soap

Hi everyone, my friend over at The Ravenously Disappearing Woman shared a great post that I’d like to share with you. Here’s a tempting excerpt from her blog: Condoms: I know store owners and condom companies have to make money, but couldn’t we just do society a favor and let this one slide? Unless these stolen condoms are being used as party balloons, they might actually prevent the birth of future Tide thieves, and I’m alright with that.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

The Ravenously Disappearing Woman 2.0

Why the hell do they lock up Tide? Sorry, thieves, you’ll have to pick that lock to smell like a rich person!

When I was a kid. my mom washed all of our clothing in Tide detergent.  I can still conjure up the fresh smell of sheets and tee-shirts, straight from the dryer or clothesline.   A few years ago, in my suburban area, I noticed the trend of locking up Tide Detergent bottles in secure cases that require finding a store manager with a key to release them.  I thought that was odd until my best friend, a social worker by profession, told me that Tide’s code name on the streets is “Liquid Gold” and that people steal and resell it, or trade it for drugs.

Yesterday, while grocery shopping, I noticed another product encased in little plastic locked boxes; Dove Body Wash.  I normally purchase the Target version of this soap, but, I had a really good coupon that made the real stuff a few pennies cheaper than its generic…

View original post 702 more words

2 thoughts on “Safeguarding the Soap

    • When we are in the states I don’t buy Tide because of the astronomical price. However, here in China, Tide is beyond affordable and that’s all I use! A big bottle of Tide is ¥58 which is approximately $8.50 USD. I’ve given up trying to understand the differences on some products. Have a great day!

Leave a comment or ask a question.

