Hand Over Hand – by Mike Smyth

At the edge of hopelessness, when all seems to be lost, the universe throws into your life the right person at just the right time. The knot at the end of your rope which provides the encouragement to start climbing and to not look down into the interminable abyss. A voice that is right there with you cheering you on, telling you,” You can do this, one hand over the other, don’t look up, don’t look down, just one hand over the other, that’s it, keep going!”
Inspired by a, Long Distance Love Bomb

This photo was taken at the Great Wall in Beijing, China by our 14 year old daughter while hiking in the area with a group of students and fantastic teachers.

This photo was taken at the Great Wall in Beijing, China by our 14 year old daughter while hiking in the area with a group of students and fantastic teachers.

My husband is participating in a writing class. Out of the class and encouragement by so many, his writing has evolved into more than just beautiful words. Today, his post on FB was so encouraging to me that I decided to share it with you (with his permission of course). Please enjoy.

4 thoughts on “Hand Over Hand – by Mike Smyth

    • Hi there, thank you so much for adding a note. I do believe Mike is really enjoying the class. I love his words and his ability to articulate his thoughts so clearly. I’m so glad for him. It’s been a solid 2 months now since we have been back in the USA and I believe we are finally, finally, feeling like we are home. It’s taken a while.

      What about you, how have you been?

      Maria

      • I didn’t realize you were back in the states. That’s fantastic! Are you teaching here, too? I’ve been great–just really busy as of late. So good to hear from you! 🙂

  1. Yes we are back in the good ole’ USA. I am not teaching here in the states, I’m actually really focused on the Shop. We were scheduled to open late March; however, I think we are looking at the 2nd week of April now. I keep changing my mind on this or that thinking I’m going to make it better.. ha ha… I should just stick to the plan.

    Anyway, we are opening Eclectic Shoppe here in Wabash, IN. We hope to have a mix of vintage and modern decor, accessories, and art. Our art will be a mix of all genres/mediums. I’ve met with someone wonderful and creative people. The creativity of so many is so inspiring. I’ve also discovered how shy our artists really are or is it reserved? Hmm I’ll have to think on this one… lol.

    I miss blogging and connecting with all of you. I keep saying I’ll remedy this by adding posts, but, I just don’t make the time… shame on me… lol. Hugs!

Leave a comment or ask a question.

